Career

Since leaving school I’ve never really knew what I wanted to do as a career, I left school and went on to do a BTEC in Production Arts, lighting, sound and scenic construction for theatre and various events. Whilst doing this course I realised that it wasn’t really for me, I found the course quite difficult and didn’t really understand the written work side of the course, it all seemed too technical.

I’ve always been interested in photography, I’d be out with my phone camera as a kid photographing everything and anything and would use my mum’s camera whilst on holiday to photograph different landscapes and sights. I think it’s probably photographing whilst on holiday, in different places like Spain, Portugal, Turkey, France etc that got me into photography. Whilst the rest of my family would be sunbathing, swimming or whatever they may be doing, I’d be walking around taking photos and enjoying the sights.

This is what started my interrested in Landscape photography, since then I’d borrow my mum’s camera and spend my time out in town photographing different landscapes and also take the camera to different place, like museums and photograph various subjects there. Because of using the camera so much my mum decided it would be a good idea to buy me a camera so that I could experiment more with photography and become better. Once I had my own camera I’d spend days out with it, trying out different techniques and experimenting. I took every opportunity I could when it came to photography, taking my camera everywhere I went.

I once went to Bristol and photographed a graffiti project there, I have always been interested in street art and wanted to document the project that was going on at the time, before that I’d photograph graffiti around where I live, Glastonbury. I wanted to photograph the project in Bristol because the graffiti there was done by professional street artists, I wanted to show the different between professional street art and the street art that you see all over the streets, which is seen as vandalism.

This is where I became interested in Documentary photography, I wanted to document many different things that happen and change in the area or historic subjects or/and events. I went to Fleet Air Arm museum and documented the many different war planes from the falklands war and world war one and documented the planes themselves, the engines, the model number and many different parts of the planes and information about them. From this I also went to other musuems and documented what they had there, for example; extinct animals, old fossils and crystals.

As well as photographing landscapes whilst on holiday, I’d also photograph landscapes in the local area, photographing Glastonbury Tor, Chalice Wells, Wearyall Hill and also, whilst in Bath visiting my dad, I’d photograph different sights there. I’ve also took trips to Dartmoor and photographed different landscapes there, for example; Lydford Gorge, and also photographed the different architecture in London, looking at the modern business buildings and different views of London, from the top of The Shard and The London Eye. Whilst in France I did a similar thing, photographing from the top of the Eiffel Tower and Arc De Triomphe whilst in Paris, afterwards I’d look through the Paris and London photos and look for comparisons in the sights, doing this I managed to find quite a few.

Although I’m still about what career to do in relation to my photography, I’d like to travel the world and photograph the different landscapes and document the various sights and subjects, comparing the streets, cities, towns and villages to one another as well as capturing the landmarks of those different places. My interest in Landscape and Documentary photography has continued right the way through to now and I’d possibly like to continue it further, into a career.

Although I still don’t

Leave a Reply

