From Hobby to Career

From Hobby to Career

I found this article by Paul Arthur about how photography started as a hobby for him and then it ended up as a career, he talks about how he changed photography from a hobby into a career and what he did to get to where he is today and what he does as a professional photographer. I think this article could help me a lot in my decision of making photography a career and how to go about making it happen.

“This hectic business lifestyle and the 50 hours a week spent living it meant that I didn’t really have any time to devote to my landscape photography. In the end, the only time I had to make landscape images was when I was away on holiday, or the occasional free weekend when I was able to leave early on Friday night and work my way over to Wales, or down to Cornwall. This isn’t news to anyone. As landscape photographers, we all have trouble finding the time to get out in to the landscape, struggle against the conditions and, especially if you live in the Midlands, the long journeys you have to endure to get there.”

Taking this quote from article, I understand what he means as a lot of the time I find it hard to photograph landscapes, due to the weather, not having the spare time or not having the transport to get the certain places. Also, most of the landscape photography I’ve been doing has been whilst away on holiday or on a weekend, if the weather is good. This is partly why I’d like to travel to different countries to do my photography, because the weather is pretty much guaranteed to be good and I think that there’s a lot more interesting subjects and sights in different countries. Also, because of being on holiday, you’ll be able to commit all your time to photographing.

“So in order to survive, my first few years as a professional photographer were spent struggling through day after day at a desk, travelling to meetings with clients, attending networking events and above all, attempting to persuade people to spend their money with me instead of with all the other photographers around doing exactly the same thing.”

Taking another quote from the article, I feel that this is something I’d have to work on before making a career of my photography, getting my photography out there and making people interested in my work over somebody elses’ sounds as if it would be difficult for me, as I’m not very confident in my own work and therefore would feel as if other people’s work would be better than mine and they would get more interest and sell more than I would. Also, attending events and meeting clients is another thing I’d have to work on if I were to make a career out of photography as I’m not very confident and a lot of the time shy away from public speaking.

Overall, I think this article has helped me gain an understanding of being a landscape photographer as a career as it’s informed me what you need to do, how you should do it and what to look out for whilst being a professional photographer.

Leave a Reply

